MAC scrapyard

Originally uploaded by 1brumaireclxxxiii.

When I came to Paris, someone had given me a ratty old mac. The copy of OS X it came with had been “installed” via FireWire and crafty use of the copy function. Of course, I needed this computer for Unix applications and all the Unix functionalities were completely useless. I needed a copy of OS X ocelot. Sadly, Apple doesn’t view OS updates as a “patch” so much as an “opportunity for capitalism.” I couldn’t buy the most recent copy because its not supported for my old machine. (It seems the hot new trend in OSs is MicroSoft-style bloatware.) Paris thankfully lacks a Mac Store, so I went to an approved dealer. He told me I couldn’t buy an update but called a friend who could help me out. Two blocks further on, I entered the Mac graveyard. For about $40, they sold me a CD with an installer. Either it was not legit or Apple just rocks the ghetto-fabulous cd-printing and packaging. I don’t care and I’m not complaining because this little shack seems to be keeping Paris up and running. This was the “showroom.” All these guys run and are being sold at bargain basement prices–for France. Oddly, that works out to be about the same as you would pay in America after the collector’s premium. Do you remember when that little red guy was released? I do. And I played Prince of Persia on it relentlessly. The most amazing thing was that a steady stream of people flowed into this place, getting their first generation laptops that folded-up like a briefcase patched up and restored to all their 1989 glory.

Ever seen those pictures of Cuba in which everyone is driving a candy colored 1958 DeSoto? It was like that. (Imagine the fortunes those guys will net when Fidel dies and they can sell to the highest bidder…)